Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

November 14, 2024

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden Jr. President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20502

MaryAnn E. Tierney, Regional Administrator FEMA Region III One Independence Mall, Sixth Floor 615 Chestnut Street Philadelphia, PA 19106

Dear President Biden and Regional Administrator Tierney,

As members of the West Virginia Congressional Delegation, we write in support of Governor Jim Justice's request for a major disaster declaration for the State of West Virginia as a result of Hurricane Helene.

Severe storms including heavy rains, straight-line winds, and flooding, washed through our State causing widespread damage in counties throughout southern West Virginia from September 25, 2024 to September 28, 2024.

To access federal disaster aid, West Virginia Governor Jim Justice has made a request for a major disaster declaration for the State of West Virginia, submitted on October 25, 2024, under the provisions of Section 401 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 5121-5208 (Stafford Act). We respectfully ask that you carefully review the submission that specifically requests Individual Assistance for Mercer and Raleigh Counties, and additionally requests assistance from the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program statewide.

We applaud the tireless dedication of our State and local first responders, as well as the invaluable contributions of our neighbors and volunteers. Nevertheless, the demand for aid remains substantial, and we urge you to do everything in your power to make sure that our communities have the federal support they need to rebuild and recover. Therefore, we kindly request that you thoroughly consider the State of West Virginia's appeal for a major disaster declaration to address our communities' recovery needs.

Thank you for your consideration of this request. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you need further assistance in this effort.

Sincerely,

Joe Manchin III United States Senator Shelley Moore Capito

Shelley Moore Capito United States Senator

Carol Miller

Member of Congress

caroe D. Miller

Alex Mooney Member of Congress